Got an email today

I’ve been looking pretty intensely at a few different graduate schools lately. The one’s I’m most interested in I’ve contacted, hoping to talk to someone who could give me a feel for the school to find out if it’s the right place for me, and I for it. At the top of my list of questions is whether or not I, coming from a school that lacks SACS accreditation, have any chance of getting it. And, at the top of my list of schools is Gonzaga University in Spokane, Washington. I got an email from the director of the M.A. program there a day or so ago regarding this issue, and he said that he is in talks with the admissions department right now about it and it will be a few days before I get an answer.

This is a pretty big deal to me. I really would like to go there. Gonzaga is a Catholic (Jesuit) school, so there will be a real concern to integrate philosophy and discipleship, which is a serious plus for me. The department is also strong in continental philosophy, which I would like to concentrate in, and seems to have a topical structure to a lot of the classes – systematic investigations of important concepts like happiness, death, art, etc. So, bottom line, I really like the school and would like to get in. If you’d like that too, please ask God to work something out, or provide an alternative. I’d appreciate it muchly. And I’ll let you guys know what comes of it.

Michael

  1. #1 by Taren on 7.10.08 - 3.51 am

    Exciting!! Be sure to let me know what you hear from him. I will be praying for you for sure.

  2. #2 by Michael Glawson on 7.10.08 - 6.37 am

    Got an email back from the guy (Ted Di Maria) asking for a description of the philosophy classes I’ve taken at Southeastern, so they can determine if I’m even acquainted with philosophy at all. I emailed him a list of the classes, and a brief description of each. Haven’t heard back yet, but that’s definitely a good sign – they didn’t automatically turn me down. My heart was lifted a bit. 🙂

  3. #3 by Taren on 7.11.08 - 3.00 am

    I’m so happy for you! I’m glad your heart was lifted. I’d say you are very acquainted with Philosophy so that’s a good thing… you know if my opinion counts for them and… well… it should count. 🙂

Leave a Reply

