Help people soon?

As was probably apparent in the ‘gospel’ post down there, I (and a significant portion of the Church) am coming to see the call of Jesus as something more significant, and real-world effective than mere secluded religious expressions like going to church or holding bible studies. The teachings of Jesus and his Apostles aren’t an end in themselves, and have no life in them; only the person of Jesus Christ is live-giving and redemptive, and he exists in the world through his followers. We are called to be the primary redemptive force in the world. Sadly though, the organized church offers very few opportunities (in my experience) for actually bringing about that tangible, real-world redemption.

To that end, if anyone knows of opportunities that already exist to do some real good in our community, please let us know about them. I’ve realized that I talk a bigger game about the world-changing power of the gospel than I actually live out, and I imagine a lot of other people would say the same. A lot of it has to do with the lack of apparent opportunities to do anything real. So, if you know how to get involved in something real, bring it on.

If your experience is like mine though, you don’t know of any open opportunities that really need you. I mean, there are volunteer opportunities, but it seems like the ones I know about are doing fine. So, if we are all coming up short on opportunities to effect the world for good, let’s find some need that we can meet and go for it.

Over Christmas break some of us got together and put on a Christmas dinner for the homeless, and that turned out very well. I think it was a meaningful instance of God’s love for people and, in my mind, that is the most basic and significant fact of the gospel. I’m not pushing for anything specific regarding what we actually do. I would just like, at this point, to see if there is interest and availability for a group of us doing something meaningful.

So, if you are interested say so. And, if you know of some need that a group of ten or so could meet, say so and we’ll get on it.

  1. #1 by Corey Scogin on 4.7.08 - 4.03 am

    Ahh…the most pertinent dilemma of the day it seems. There is excitement and motivation but…What to do?

    Being a critic, may I point out (and I’m sure you would agree) that even though life isn’t IN the apostles teachings, it is through the apostles teachings that people are called in the first place to be a part of that redemption. Therefore we must beware not to discard solid discipleship in favor of philanthropy.

    (yes, sometimes I comment just for the sake of commenting.)

  2. #2 by Michael Glawson on 4.7.08 - 5.17 am

    Corey, you are a true master of the ‘yes, but…’

    And, of course, I agree that the call comes through the teachings of the church. My point is that we shouldn’t neglect satisfying that call to ruminate on it.

    Know of any needy people?

  3. #3 by Taren on 4.7.08 - 6.47 pm

    I am interested in helping out. I, like you, am not sure where to help out but I am sure that we can get a group together and figure something out.

  4. #4 by Alex Marshall on 4.8.08 - 4.37 am

    I’m all for helping out with this stuff… at the moment don’t have any ideas on what to do, but if I find one, I’ll be sure to pass it on.

  5. #5 by Catie on 4.8.08 - 8.29 am

    I would love to help out tell me when and where, I’ll be there.
    If I think of anything or hear anything I will let you know.

Leave a Reply

