A pagan’s prayer

Maynard Keenan of Tool and A Perfect Circle is, in my mind, one of the best lyricists today. He always has a real point to make and, even though I don’t always square with him on those points, I respect that he seems to have thought through what he’s saying, and consistently aims at bettering the world through his music. These lyrics are from the song “Gravity” – the last song off of APC’s Thirteenth Step album. Enjoy.

“Gravity”

Lost again
Broken and weary
Unable to find my way
Tail in hand
Dizzy and clearly unable to
Just let this go

I am surrendering to gravity and the unknown
Catch me
Heal me
Lift me back up to the sun
I choose to live

I fell again
Like a baby, unable to stand on my own.
Tail in hand,
Dizzy and clearly unable to just let this go

High and surrendering to the gravity and the unknown
Catch me
Heal me
Lift me back up to the sun
I choose to live. I choose to live. I choose to live.

Catch me
Heal me
Lift me back up to the sun
Help me survive the bottom

Calm these hands
Before they snare another pill
And drive another nail
Down another needy hole
Please release me

I am surrendering to the gravity and the unknown
Catch me
Heal me
Lift me back up to the sun
I choose to live, I choose to live

So often I wonder to whom such songs are sung.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

